SUPER-PIT

Achievement
OK – so I’m posting two photos, but the first one is really the more photographically interesting; the other is more personal and is really just to fill you in on the context of both photos! ENJOY πŸ˜€

This mining site in Kalgoorlie, Australia was the deepest and most extensive in the world when I visited it in 2009 with my school science group. It's not-so-creatively named the "Super-Pit" - maybe a controversial achievement considering some of the mining industry's current environmental practice, but I was awed by it's immensity; I couldn't see the bottom from where I stood!
This mining site in Kalgoorlie, Australia was the deepest and most extensive in the world when I visited it in 2009 with my school science group. It is not-so-creatively named the “Super-Pit” – maybe a controversial achievement considering some of the mining industry’s current environmental practice, but I was awed by it’s immensity; I couldn’t see the bottom from where I stood!
This photo was taken in Adelaide and depicts the finish line of the World Solar Challenge, in which groups drive their designed solar-cars from the top of Australia (Darwin) to the bottom (Adelaide) to see who's car stands the test of an extended, often dodgy-roaded, drive. My high school's car did pretty well all things considered and it was an AMAZING feeling to get to the end of the journey with our car still functioning (and our group friendships still in tact!). Three weeks of camping on the roadside paid off and I will never forget what I experienced. I love camping now, so that's a major bonus!
I took this in Adelaide – it depicts the finish line of the World Solar Challenge, in which groups drive their institution’s designed solar-cars from the top of Australia (Darwin) to the bottom (Adelaide) to see whose car stands the test of an extended, often dodgy-roaded, drive. My high school’s car did pretty well all things considered and it was an AMAZING feeling to get to the end of the journey with our car still functioning (and our group friendships still in tact!). Three weeks of camping on the roadside paid off and I will never forget what I experienced. I love camping now, so that’s a major bonus!

As a result of this trip, I also went five days without a shower. That’s a pretty gross achievement, but it is true nonetheless. LOVELY.

Posted for the Weekly Photo Challenge – Achievement πŸ˜›

4 thoughts on “SUPER-PIT

    1. It was so much fun, I feel like taking your congratulations is like someone saying “Thanks, I worked so hard on my holiday!” haha thankyou very much – it was an awesome experience! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

